uKnowva’s Document Repository is a place where you can store all your documents for easy access from anyplace, anytime and sharing with others. It also offers different layers of security by giving different access rights for viewing, uploading, editing and deleting files and folders.
Even with all these features, there was dissatisfaction that there was no way to upload multiple copies of the same file unless their names were different. There could be instances when the same file needs to be uploaded and replace the older one. Also, this had to be possible without the user having to first delete the old file and then upload and save the new file.
The makers of uKnowva have found a solution to this problem as well—Versioning. As the name suggests, versioning allows you to overwrite a file and save it as a new version of the older file.
Here’s how it works.
Suppose a user has a file saved in the document repository. He has made changes to the file and now wants to upload the updated version to the repository using the same file name. All he needs to do is upload the file and click Save. uKnowva will ask the user if he wants to save the file as a new version. Clicking that button will save the file as a new version of the file already saved.
Once the new version is saved, the details of the versions can be seen by clicking the file name in the repository.
You can then download the version you want by clicking the download button for that version.
Document Versioning can be enabled/disabled from uKnowva Configuration by the site administrator.